Writing Advice

There’s an enormous amount of writing advice out there on hundreds of writing blogs across the internet. I’m sure much of it is insightful and useful to many. I find myself giving advice and notice other starting blogs making similar posts. I look at myself trying to do this, still an unpublished hack, and wonder why? Why do I feel the need to try to give advice to other writers? What do I have to say and why should they listen to me when I’m obviously no professional? Still, I feel the need.

I think we, as writers, like to share tidbits and tricks we’ve learned or acquired through our literary struggles. We like to connect with others and share experiences. Not to mention, to be honest, we want to keep people coming to our blog and reading our shit. We want to keep people interested. Advice seems like a way to do this. We all have acquired knowledge and wisdom throughout our years. Why not share it? If I give good advice, people will flock to my blog to hear my latest list of Do’s and Don’ts.

Here’s the truth for me. I don’t know what I’m doing. I don’t know how to write and blog successfully. I don’t know what works and what doesn’t. When I try to act like I do, it comes off as false and shoddy.

There’s plenty of advice out there, if that’s what you’re looking for. I don’t need to force myself to give advice in a vain attempt to gain readers, which is why I stopped the “Things You Can Learn From…” feature after the first post. It felt…silly. I was trying to force my opinions on things into writing lessons instead of simply writing my thoughts. Why? Because I got it into my head that I needed to give advice on this blog. There’s enough advice out there, written by authors much more professional and wise than I, for others to learn from.

If someone wants to read my blog and follow it, it’s not going to be because of posts full of paltry advice that they could find on other blogs. They’ll read because they find my personal posts interesting and engaging. They’ll read because they enjoy my voice and seeing my thoughts. They’ll read because I’m trying to be my best self on the internet, something we should all strive for. Giving advice because I think I have to, is not being my best self. Writing my thoughts out, giving my opinions, writing some engaging flash fiction? That’s my best self and that’s the reason readers will read. My best self writes first.

I’m not going to try and give advice. I’m not going to try and act like I know what I’m doing. I’m just going to write what I feel like and put it up here. Take from it what you will.

I suppose I do have one piece of advice.

CREATE SOMETHING FIRST, ASK QUESTIONS LATER

Leave a Reply

